Liebster Award: Eleven Exciting Facts!

Big news! I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award! If you aren’t familiar, the Liebster Award is bestowed upon blogs with small followings that a fellow blogger feels deserve recognition. This is a great honor for me because I was nominated by one of my favorite blogs, Bright Blue Line. It’s amazing to find a blog that addresses two things I am passionate about: Down syndrome and law enforcement. Most of my friends share one of these passions, so check it out.

liebster-blog-awardThere are a few rules for the Liebster Award:

1.Thank the Liebster-winning blogger who nominated you. Link back to their blog.

2. Post 11 random facts about yourself.

3. Answer the 11 questions your nominator asked.

4. Create 11 questions for your nominees.

5. Nominate 11 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed. Leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen.

6. Display the Liebster Award logo.

I am going do this in multiple posts because I am so wordy. I’ll nominate blogs once I complete all the requirements and figure out how to tell how many followers a blog has 😀

Without further ado…

11 Facts About Me

One. One of my favorite childhood books was Naya Nuki: Shoshoni Girl Who Ran. In the fifth grade, the author, Ken Thomasma, visited our school for a writing workshop. There was an essay contest and I won an original ink drawing from the book’s illustrator, Eunice Hundley. I think a few people reading this may have won a drawing, too. Mine hangs on my living room wall and is one of my most treasured possessions. That was a great day.

Two. I love carbs. Especially if they come in the form of beer or chocolate. Or chocolate beer.

family photo 2Three. I worked for two years as a 911 operator and police dispatcher. This was my favorite job. I worked with fantastic people and was sad that I couldn’t stay, but the crazy hours weren’t good for my family. Police officers really do risk their lives everyday for about $40,ooo a year. Not long before I left, our department lost an officer in the line of duty. I didn’t know him well, but I think of him and his family often.

<- Four. I have two intelligent, hilarious, caring, beautiful, outspoken sisters. That’s us when we were little.

Five. I swear like a sailor. Actually, I might make a sailor blush. (This is probably an offensive stereotype to sailors. *Sigh* Sorry.)

Six. People are constantly saying I am the smartest, funniest, fastest, prettiest bad-ass they know. You know it’s true because you read it on the internet. Feel free to cite this post in my unauthorized biography.

Seven. I support marriage equality. I don’t believe in different rights for different people.

Eight. I love to run. I used to hate it. I had to stop putting value on how well I ran, and instead value the process of running. I love putting one foot in front of the other and logging miles. I live for that moment when my entire body is in sync. When the rhythm of my footsteps lines up with my breathing and my heart, pumping blood through my veins to my muscles. In that instant, I can do anything.

Nine. I can’t swim. I can not drown though, so that’s good. (This was going to say, “I can’t multi-task,” but I might need to get a job at some point, and you have to be really careful about what you put on the internet these days.)

Ten. I am a big chicken. If you were wondering why I haven’t posted about Ethan Saylor, it’s because I can’t bring myself to even read about what happened yet. I’m afraid it will put me in a place I won’t be able to come back from. Thank you to everyone else who is fighting that fight.

Eleven. I am seriously afraid there will be a zombie apocalypse. When I hear a noise in the night, I don’t think it’s a burglar, I think it’s a zombie. You better not trick-or-treat in my neighborhood dressed as one. I will bash your brains in with a hammer without thinking twice. I am just hopeful that when the zombies come, they are the slow, mindless kind featured in The Walking Dead, not the fast, crazy kind in 28 Days Later.

Well, there it is. I know that you are probably so worked up about these eleven exciting facts you probably won’t be able to sleep tonight. For that, I apologize.

11 thoughts on “Liebster Award: Eleven Exciting Facts!”

  1. Oh, my gosh! I feel like The Walking Dead is my training program for the zombie apocalypse. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve caught myself thinking, “If the zombies come, I am going to hide here, I’m going to use this as a weapon, this is my escape route….etc.” We will be prepared.

  2. This is great! Hey… who is that… #686… I would say that is the “smartest, funniest, fastest, prettiest bad-ass” I know! Love you!

  3. I am proud of you. You gave up the job at the Police Dept. because your family came first. Thanks for three wonderful Grandkids. Each one of you is special.

  4. Don’t call yourself a chicken. Or else, I’d have to call myself a loud-mouth. I was pretty much thought I was the only one who was not at all surprised when I saw The Walking Dead. Everyone needs to learn how to kill a zombie. Just as important as getting your driver’s license, imo.

What do you think?

