Liebster Award: When You Wish Upon A Mass Of Incandescent Gas…

I’m attempting to make one Liebster related post a day.  I must apologize; I really feel like the quality of my work is suffering because I can’t take the time to review and edit as much as I’d like.    I”m just really excited to get to my nominations!  

Bright Blue Line asked : “You are granted 1 wish (make it great, but it cannot be to have 9 more wishes), what is that special wish?”

Really, I’m not a big fan of wishing.  I don’t believe that if I see a shooting star or throw a penny in a fountain that whatever I wish will magically come to fruition.  I also don’t think it’s a good use of my time to sit around fantasizing.  No, I  prefer acting.  If I want something, the most probable way to make it so is to take active steps towards achieving my goals. Some people like to believe in magic, and that’s fine with me – I’m just not one of those people.  Since this is a hypothetical question…

20130425-222829.jpgOnce, I was watching a documentary and I heard a parent of a gay child say that she wished her child weren’t gay – not because she thought it was wrong, but because being gay would make her child’s life harder. I had similar thoughts when I received Evelyn’s diagnosis. Truthfully, I did feel something was “wrong” with her, and I believe that mother thought something was “wrong” with her son. Both of us were mistaken and were making short sighted wishes. Her child’s sexuality was part of who he was, just as Evelyn’s Down syndrome is part of who she is.  I love Evelyn as she is, Down syndrome and all.   

Therefore, I wish for acceptance and appreciation for all of the intricacies and nuances of each human being. Seems pretty big unless you think about taking one step at a time – opening one mind at a time. Besides, with your help, my wish will come true much faster.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award: When You Wish Upon A Mass Of Incandescent Gas…”

What do you think?

