Liebster Award: The Currency of Social Media

My next Liebster qualifying query asks: “Where is the value in social media and how do you fit into that role?”

I googled this, and found a lot of articles about marketing. I guess, if you are measuring value in only a monetary sense, that applies.

When I read the question though, I assumed it was about the value of social media to society. I think that’s a safe assumption considering it was posed by Bright Blue Line, which is definitely focused more on societal values than financial.

The most valuable aspect of social media is that it is revolutionary. It is a new and entirely different form of accessible communication. Social Media allows anyone to enact change. We saw it during the Egyptian Revolution. The R-word campaign owes a lot of it’s success to social media.

So far, this little blog has been viewed in SEVENTEEN countries. That a SAHM in West Michigan can be heard around the world is something no generation before ours has ever faced.  We have the opportunity to become a global community.

I’m still defining my role in social media, after all, I’ve just dipped my toe in. I hope my role will be, at the least, participant. I hope that I am one of many who will change the way people with Down syndrome are viewed. I hope that change in perception carries over to all people with disabilities, and then to all people. I hope that the medium allows us to meet and understand one another and to discover common ground. I know that I have already been changed by the people I have come to know through social media.

Photo credit: taolifestiudio.com

 

What do you think?

